Bulbs

noun :
Botany.
a. a usually subterranean and often globular bud having fleshy leaves emergent at the top and a stem reduced to a flat disk, rooting from the underside, as in the onion and lily.
b. a plant growing from such a bud

Now, I’ll be honest – bulbs generally produce flowers that do not fall in to my list of favorites. Tulips, daffodils, lilies, irises… not something I will gravitate toward at the market, or often choose for arrangements. That being said, they do fascinate me and I find myself excited as Spring approaches and sleek, green leaves start shooting up all over the neighborhood. When I lived in England, February was filled with an overwhelming number of daffodils – everywhere you went there were lines of yellow to contrast with the grey skies and stones. It was invigorating and joyous. They seem so brave and almost impetuous in their determination to add color to the dreariness.

Side note – I do love parrot tulips and garlic. Fabulous.

Leave a comment

Filed under Plant of the Week

Leave a Reply

