Edibles!

The amazing creativity and deliciousness of our local farmers/growers/bakers around Portland never cease to amaze me!  A bunch of sugar pea tops/flowers, and some Thai flowers for a stir fry caught my eye and I couldn’t say no… such delicate, pretty things that are also edible? and I never even knew the existed? I’ve been missing out! Food texture is just as important to me as flavor, and almost anything can win me over if it is fun and looks beautiful. The Thai flowers tasted nice and slightly sweet and lemony; the pea tops basically tasted like broccoli. But I like broccoli.

We just dropped the stems, leaves and flowers in the wok with some garlic, soy sauce and oil – simple and delish.

The leftover buds I added to one of my favorite vintage vases. I particularly love the tiny curly-cues.

Leave a comment

Filed under daily flowers, edible, Floral arrangements, Flowers @ Home, my favorite things, Portland Farmers Market

Leave a comment