Summer Reading

While I’m sitting home sick and in a lull between planing and harvesting and floral gigs, I’ve been catching up on some reading. If I wasn’t too sick to move from the couch, I would definitely be out finding something sturdy to swing my hammock between so I could read outside. (You should be warned I’m obsessed with my hammock and will probably find many more opportunities to mention it.)

So, for the reading material:

-Borders has an awesome magazine selection (rivaled, at least in Portland, only by Powell’s books) where I found this fun wedding flowers mag. It’s aptly called “Wedding flowers: your expert guide to bridal blooms” for June/July 2010. It’s British, and is connected to this website (I recommend the “Real-life flowers” section). I loved their cute ideas, and that they included some ideas for doing things smaller and more affordable.

-While we’re renting and focused on potted gardens, we’re still a little obsessed with gardens and learning as much as we can about gardening before we have a yard of our own. My in-laws got wind of this and sent me a book they just found for my birthday. It’s similar to another one we’ve found, and I’m excited to actually read this one (I just got it, so I’ve only skimmed it) because we’re pretty sure this is a style/philosophy of gardening that we want to get in to. The book is “All New Square Foot Gardening” by Mel Bartholomew. His website is a little intense, so I suggest checking out the book.

Leave a comment

Filed under Design Living, edible, Garden, Weddings

Leave a comment